Did you know that North Carolina traffic enforcement agencies issued 863,889 charges for driving violations in 2019?
We all know how important safety is when using our highway and road networks. But for new drivers or those new to the state, it can pay to familiarize yourself with a few specific laws.
Don’t get caught out; if you’re driving in NC and want to make sure you don’t get a ticket, our helpful guide explains a few North Carolina driving laws to remember.
Read on to find out more about the top 5 driving laws for North Carolina.
1. Auto Insurance Requirements
North Carolina car insurance laws state that drivers must have continuous liability insurance to operate a motor vehicle legally. This policy must be issued by a company licensed to trade in North Carolina.
Your insurance policy must cover:
- $30,000 per person for bodily injury
- $60,000 per accident for bodily injury
- $25,000 per accident for property damage per accident
Out-of-state insurance policies are not valid in NC.
2. Move Over Law
The NC Move Over Law states that drivers must move over one lane, if possible and safe to do so, when passing any stationary emergency or utility vehicle.
The Move Over Law exists to protect law enforcement and other officials in the execution of their duty.
Failure to follow the Move Over Law can result in fines of $500. If your failure causes a serious collision or fatality, you could face felony charges.
3. Littering On a Public Highway
Don’t throw your trash out of the window when driving on NC highways – you could be hit with a fine of $250 and community service.
We all want to keep North Carolina beautiful. Littering is a threat to wildlife and costs millions to clean up each year.
If you illegally dump more than 15lbs of waste on an NC highway, you could be fined up to $2000.
4. Cellphone Laws
Texting and driving laws prohibit reading or sending texts at any time when behind the wheel. Violators can expect a $100 fine plus court costs.
North Carolina law states that drivers under 18 must not use any cellular technology while driving, unless in an emergency or when talking to a parent or spouse.
Statistics show that 39% of teen drivers admitted to texting or emailing behind the wheel at least once a month.
5. Driving While Impaired
The legal limit for alcohol concentration when driving in NC is 0.08. If you are visibly intoxicated, you may be asked to perform a field sobriety test.
When driving commercial vehicles, the limit is reduced to 0.04. Driving under the influence of any illicit drug is also illegal in NC. An impaired driving conviction will see you pay fines and costs of $6,000 to $8,000, and you may lose your license.
Never drive after drinking any amount of alcohol.
North Carolina Driving Laws Explained
So, that’s the down-low on North Carolina driving laws.
By following these top five tips, you can avoid citations and make our highways safer for everyone. Knowledge of the law makes you a better driver and a more informed citizen.
Did you find this post helpful? If so, be sure to check out our other informative posts for everything you need to know about law, lifestyle, defense, and more.