Immediately after a car crash in Colorado, it’s often hard to think straight. If your injuries are serious, call 911 right away and check if other drivers and passengers need help. No matter the circumstances, call the police, and wait for the investigating officer to arrive. In case you are capable of moving around, check whether you can take your car to safer place. Also, take as many photos and video footage of the accident scene as needed. After you are settled in, consider calling a Colorado Springs auto accident attorney. There is no requirement for an accident attorney by law, but this could be the ideal decision for your situation.
When you are at fault
In case of auto accidents, Colorado follows the modified comparative negligence rule. If you sustained injuries and suffered losses, but were partially at fault, you can still pursue your personal injury lawsuit. However, your eventual settlement will be reduced by your share of fault. For example – If you were given $20,000 in settlement and were 10% at fault, you will eventually get $18,000. If your share of fault is more than 50%, you cannot recover anything at all.
The insurance company can adhere to tactics, to pin the blame on you, and that’s one of the serious reasons why you need an auto accident attorney. Top attorneys will do their share of homework, ensure that there is enough evidence to prove your claims, and negotiate with the insurance company on your behalf.
When you have suffered serious injuries
Typically, you need to file an insurance claim with the at-fault party’s insurer. The claims adjuster will do an investigation to find fault and liability, and if their client is found to be at fault, they may make an offer. If your injuries and losses are severe, the insurance cover of the at-fault party may not be enough. Your auto accident attorney can help you recover the maximum amount, by filing a personal injury lawsuit. Let an attorney guide you on simple things like the worth of your claim, what damages and losses you can recover, and other expenses. They will take care of the paperwork, negotiations, and can work with the claims adjuster on your behalf.
Don’t delay in calling an attorney after your accident. The statute of limitations in Colorado allows only three years to file such personal injury lawsuits, counting from date of accident.