Whether you’re a resident of Utah or someone passing through, you need to know your rights when it comes to carrying or owning a firearm. By understanding Utah gun carry laws, purchase laws, concealed carry, and other factors, you will avoid legal issues and be able to act as a responsible owner.
When you’re trying to brush up on your information, we’d be glad to help. Keep reading to learn more about Utah gun laws that you should know about.
Understand the Basics of Utah Gun Laws
If you have an understanding of the basics, it’s easier for you to act within the parameters of the law and avoid penalties. For starters, Utah is an open carry state, as long as the firearm isn’t loaded.
A person 18 years of age or older are legally allowed to purchase guns in a private sale.
Know the Penalties That Come With Breaking Gun Laws
Understanding the penalties that come with a gun charge is just as important as knowing your rights. If you illegally carry a concealed weapon, for instance, you might spend up to a year in jail if charged and convicted, along with a fine of $2,500.
More significant gun penalties in Utah can land you in jail for up to 15 years, along with a fine of $10,000. The last thing you would want is to have a felony on your record, since it shows up on background checks and leads to a can of worms that can follow you the rest of your life.
Brush Up on Utah Concealed Carry Laws
You should also learn more about concealed carry laws in Utah. Many people that own guns choose to concealed carry for their protection and throughout the course of their work.
In order to get a concealed carry permit in Utah, you need to be at least 21 years of age. You must not have been convicted of a felony or any sort of violent crime, or any crimes associated with the use of alcohol.
Utah is a shall issue state, so as long as you have no red flags on your application, you will be permitted to receive a concealed carry permit.
Make sure that you also know as many details about concealed carry weapon (CCW) permits in Utah so that you’re a good steward of it once your application is approved.
Advocate for Your Rights and Stay Educated
Anytime that you decide to own or use firearms, the onus is on you to stay educated and up to date. This means learning about any changes to gun laws and continuously training yourself on the proper way to use, clean and store it.
The more you advocate for yourself in this regard, the easier it’ll be to also stay out of trouble with the law.
Always Understand Gun Laws Where You Live
The tips above are useful to you when you’re interested in learning more about Utah gun laws. Take heed to these tips so that you can own your firearms safely and responsibly.
Check out more of our information on legal matters of all types.